top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe Lewd Foodie

Eggplant is freakin weird and delicious!

So I found this recipe a few years ago when I still subscribed to Cook's Illustrated. (I need to renew that. hmmm). I put off making it for a long time because it has anchovies in it and that seems like horkville, usa. BUT, it's delicious. I have never and will never use whole anchovy because I want nothing to do with chopping up whole little stinky ass fish. So I subbed anchovy paste. Yes, that exists. It's pretty cheap and lasts a while in the fridge.


This recipe involves drying out the eggplant a bit so there's not as much water in the sauce, and so you end up with a more concentrated eggplant flavor. The recipe calls for using a microwave to dry out the eggplant which I am sure works beautifully. However, I have not owned or used a microwave in more than a decade. lol Started when my microwave went out and I just never went back. Anyway, not the point. I use HELLA paper towels and time to dry mine out. I will include microwave instructions for the 90% of you who have a microwave.


The cheese, Ricotta Salata. Idk where you live as you read this so I'm not sure where you refer you to find it. I was unable to find it at your run of the mill grocer. I had to go to wegman's. However, if you cannot find it a good quality romano is pretty close. The cheese is quite salty so don't go ham on it when sprinkling it on your dish. Like I did.


This is all you need! Ps don't hate on my lighting, I'm working on fixing that situation. :D



Pasta alla Norma

Ingredients:

• 3 small eggplants, cut into 1/2" pieces

• kosher salt

• 4 garlic cloves, or 2 tsp minced

• 2 anchovy filets, chopped or 1.5 tsp paste

• 1/2 tsp pepper flakes (if you like less heat cut it back to 1/4 tsp)

• 1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes

• 1 lb pasta (rotini works best, but you can also use penne, rigatoni, etc. no long noods)

• 6 Tbsp chopped fresh basil, half that for dried

• 4 oz ricotta salata (1C shredded)

•3 Tbsp olive oil


Directions;

• Dice eggplant and toss with salt (1tsp or so).

• If using microwave to dry eggplant: line microwave safe plate with coffee filters and/or paper towels. Place eggplant on plate in a single layer (do in batches if necessary). Microwave on high for 10 minutes, let cool.

If air drying: Start this process the day before! Cut your eggplant up, toss with the salt. I like to lay out a clean kitchen towel, AND paper towels, and lay all the eggplant out. cover with more paper towels and let it soak up the water. You will have to do this atleast twice. Then, I usually layer paper towel and eggplant in a container and leave it in the fridge overnight with a little airflow. The fridge dries everything out. lol Proceed to next step.

• Toss eggplant in some olive oil. About 1 tsp, add more if needed.

• Heat another tbsp evoo in a skillet over medium heat. Add eggplant and cook until tender and more brown. about 10 min.

• Remove from skillet and set aside

• Add another tbsp oil to skillet along with garlic, anchovy, & red pepper flakes.

• Do not burn! only heat it until it's fragrant. 10 seconds tops.

• Add crushed tomatoes and simmer 10 min

•Cook your pasta and reserve 1/2 C pasta water.

• Add eggplant to sauce, stir, and simmer 3-5 min.

• Stir in basil and reserved pasta water, add to pasta and mix well.


Now sprinkle some of that cheese on that bitch and send me a thank you note!


As always, if anyone has any questions about one of the recipes I've shared or has a request, do not hesitate to reach out!

12 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Dave Leblanc
Dave Leblanc
Dec 14, 2020

This stuff was so delicious!!! Can't wait to try it again!!!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page