top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe Lewd Foodie

Showing off my buns...

Well......rolls. Dinner rolls! Tricked ya! I tried a new product and I want to share. I came across this little packet of "Wtf is that?"


Interesting, right?! You use this packet in the place of a normal yeast packet in any bread or yeast roll recipe. It has sourdough culture in it and is advertised to give you that sourdough flavor without fussing with a starter. It was super easy to work with.


I made these delicious dinner rolls for xmas dinner with it!



We enjoyed the flavor. Though I can't say it tasted exactly like sourdough, in a pinch this is perfect!

*eye roll* I guess you want to know the recipe for the rolls. Fine. :p


Ingredients


  • 1 cup whole milk, warmed to about 110°F

  • 2 and 1/4 teaspoons yeast (One standard packet or this sourdough packet)

  • 2 Tablespoons granulated sugar, divided

  • 1 large egg

  • 1/4 cup (60g) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature and cut into 4 pieces

  • 1 teaspoon salt

  • 3 cups (400g) all purpose flour (or bread flour)


Instructions


• Whisk the warm milk, yeast, and 1 Tbsp of sugar together in a bowl (NOT METAL) or the bowl of a stand mixer (SERIOUSLY no metal and yeast). Cover and let sit for 5 minutes. If you're using a stand mixer, get it fitted with the paddle attachment.


• Add the remaining sugar, egg, butter, salt, and 1 cup flour. I used a glass bowl and hand mixer for this part but if you're using the stand mixer it's really the same instructions. duh. Beat on low speed for 30 seconds, scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula, then add the remaining flour. Beat on medium speed until the dough comes together and pulls away from the sides of the bowl, about 2 minutes. If the dough seems too wet to a point where kneading would be impossible, beat in more flour 1 Tbsp at a time until you have a workable dough. Dough should be soft and a little sticky, but you should still be able to knead with your hands and minimal flour on the counter. If you do not own a stand or hand mixer, you can still make this dough, it's just going to be an arm workout!


• Keep the dough in the mixer and beat for an additional 2 minutes or knead by hand on a lightly floured surface for 2 minutes. Do NOT over work this dough. Keep in mind these are soft, light dinner rolls and not a hard crust bread. So you don't want to get them too glutenous and chewy.


This is what you're going for:



• Lightly grease a large bowl with oil or nonstick spray. Place the dough in the bowl, turning it to coat all sides in the oil. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap, or a clean kitchen towel. Allow the dough to rise in a relatively warm environment for 1-2 hours or until double in size. I had stuff going in the oven for xmas dinner, so I set the bowl on top of a pot on the back of the stove for some radiant heat.


• So here is where I fucked up a liiiiiiittle bit. Remember when I said I don't read recipes all the way before just going for it? Yea I was supposed to use a 9x13 glass pan to make 16ish rolls. I used a pie pan, and made 8. bahahaha so they were giant. Don't do what I did. Get that damn 9x13 greased and ready.


• When the dough is ready, punch it down to release the air.

Could not resist making a .gif of that process. :D



Divide the dough into 14-16 equal pieces. (orrrr don't read and do 8 like me) Shape each piece into a smooth ball. These are dinner rolls, so don't feel weird about crowding them. They bake better when they are crowded.




• Cover shaped rolls with plastic wrap, or a clean kitchen towel. Allow to rise until puffy, about 1 hour. (I put them back on the stove where the bowl was before)


Look at these bad boys! Rawr!




• Adjust oven rack to a lower position and preheat oven to 350°F.(having them on the lower rack ensures the tops don't get darker than the rest)

• Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown on top, rotating the pan halfway through. Rotating is important with a dinner roll. Don't be lazy, ffs. If you notice the tops browning too quickly, loosely tent the pan with aluminum foil. Remove from the oven, brush with butter, and allow rolls to cool for a few minutes before serving. I made a honey butter which is just softened butter and honey, the sweetness is on you.

• If these rolls make it past the meal you're making, you can store them like any other bread.

Now, EAT DEM!



These were so delicious! We ended up with some leftover because there's only 2 of us. Sooooooo I made bread crumbs out of them! I just crumbled them and they are currently drying on my counter. I will post whatever I use the bread crumbs for in a future post.


<3



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page