top of page
Search
Writer's pictureThe Lewd Foodie

I asked.....

...and you answered. I wanted to know what you wanted to see for my first post back and you chooooossse.....*drumroll*...........Chili! I have won more than one chili cookoff with this chili.


First thing you should know is that chili recipes are guidelines. In the end, you will just be adding a little of this, and a little of that.


I did not take pics of this being made because let's be real. Chili isn't fucking hard and we will use ingredients most of us have at home or are super familiar with. I will write as recipe for this specific batch. Change it up, make it your own, and enjoy!


Ingredients:

1 lb. ground beef (can use ground turkey, or small pieces of another cut of beef)

2 tsp oil

1 cup onion, chopped

SEVERAL cloves of garlic (I'd say 2 but that's a different amount for all of us),minced

2-3 Tbsp Chili powder

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp oregano ( I H A T E oregano so this is modest af)

salt and pepper to taste

1 (4 oz) can diced green chiles

1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes

1 (28 oz, the chonky boi can) crushed tomatoes

1.5 cups soaked and cooked black beans or 1 (15 oz) can, drained

1.5 cups soaked and cooked kidney beans or 1 (15 oz) can, drained


Directions:


Add oil to dutch oven over med heat and add the onion. Add spices and cook until onions are soft. Add garlic. Cook until fragrant, add beef. Cook until brown and drain if needed. Add the remaining ingredients. This order works best for me but honestly do whatever tf you want. Chiles and diced tomatoes, crushed tomatoes, beans.


Simmer that shiii for atleast 30 minutes but I like to cook it a day ahead, letting it go on low for about an hour. Stir it every once in a while and don't let it boil. Just a simmer....calm down.


Top with whatever you want, I'm not telling you how to live your life. Here's a pic of my finished product. I went for local cheddar cheese and tortilla chips






15 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


The Lewd Foodie
The Lewd Foodie
Jun 04, 2020

Just seeing this. Honestly I LOVE Badia brand chili powder. It's relatively inexpensive and so freakin good!

Like

bethann530
Apr 17, 2020

Ooooh looks yummy! Do you prefer any specific variety of chili powder?

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page